#FreeBelarus – Freedom Day in Leipzig

On Thursday, about 60 participants gathered for a bicycle demonstration on the occasion of the Day of Freedom in Belarus to cycle from the Sachsenbrücke in Leipzig via the Honorary Consulate to the market. At the consulate, which is also the headquarters of the GRK Real Estate Group, an open letter was handed over to the Honorary Consul Steffen Göpel, which was signed on the spot by those present.

As a historian I am extremely sparing with Nazi comparisons … (Participant)

 

 

The call read as follows: “Freedom Day” is celebrated in Belarus by opponents* of the Lukašenko dictatorship as an alternative national holiday.

On August 9, 2020, the presidential elections in Belarus were massively rigged. While opinion polls predicted a single-digit result for the incumbent president, the Central Election Commission declared that the incumbent had won with a whopping 80% of the electoral votes. 

Tens of thousands immediately protested against this brazen falsification. The state responded with excesses of violence in the streets and squares of the country and with systematic torture in police stations and prisons. Outrage among the population only grew stronger as a result. Around ten people were killed by the regime and its supporters, and many were injured, some of them so severely that they suffered permanent damage for life. The regime has finally discredited itself in the eyes of most people. For more than seven months, daily protests have been taking place in Belarus. The population rallied behind three key demands:

– An end to the violence and punishment for the perpetrators;
– Release of all political prisoners;
– New elections without Lukashenko.

Since the protests began in August 2020, more than 32,000 people have been arrested, hundreds imprisoned, and many already sentenced to draconian sentences. Nearly 300 people are currently recognized as political prisoners by the Human Rights Center “Vesna” (“Spring”). They are imprisoned for participating in demonstrations, shouting slogans or displaying protest symbols. Journalists have been sentenced to prison because their work displeased the regime. In many cases, the tax authorities are now being brought to bear against opposition figures, who are being tried on seemingly apolitical charges of alleged tax evasion and similar charges.

As long as the illegitimate regime of Aleksandr Lukašenko remains in power in Belarus, human and civil rights violations will continue. Hundreds, perhaps thousands, will disappear for years in prisons and camps, mistreated and humiliated. 

The regime relies only on the armed forces, which must be financed and kept in line with special privileges. The funds for this come primarily from the profits of state-owned enterprises. For this reason, the Belarusian opposition is demanding that international economic contacts be frozen. Particularly German partners provide by spare part supplies and maintenance for the smooth functioning of Belarusian state enterprises and thus for a good filling of the feed troughs of the Belarusian repression organs. 

In Leipzig the honorary consul Steffen Goepel, who is well-known as a real estate entrepreneur in the city, provides for good economic contacts of the domestic economy with the dictatorship. 
We call on Steffen Goepel to take a public stand on the election falsifications and human rights violations in Belarus. We call on him to face the demonstrators on March 25, 2021 and receive demands.

“Very good initiative! Entrepreneur Steffen Goepel (on the right in the picture hugging a friend) represents #Lukashenko’s regime and should declare himself. #FreeBelarushttps://t.co/9Xkmxdedcb pic.twitter.com/zPyiyiHZKu

– Stefan Liebich (@berlinliebich) March 26, 2021

#FreeBelarus – Tag der Freiheit in Leipzig

Zu einer Fahrraddemo anlässlich des Tag der Freiheit in Belarus versammelten sich am Donnerstag ca. 60 Teilnehmer*innen um von der Leipziger Sachsenbrücke über das Honorarkonsulat zum Markt zu radeln. Am Konsulat, welcher zugleich als Hauptsitz der GRK Immobilien-Gruppe fungiert, wurde ein offener Brief  an den Honorarkonsul Steffen Göpel übergeben, welcher vor Ort von Anwesenden unterzeichnet wurde. 

Als Historiker bin ich mit Nazivergleichen äußerst sparsam … (Teilnehmer)

 

 
Der Aufruf lautete wie folgt: „Der „Tag der Freiheit“ wird in Belarus von Gegner*innen der Lukašenko-Diktatur als alternativer Nationalfeiertag begangen.
 
Am 9. August 2020 wurden die Präsidentschaftswahlen in Belarus massiv gefälscht. Während Meinungsumfragen dem amtierenden Präsidenten ein einstelliges Ergebnis prognostizierten erklärte die Zentrale Wahlkommission der Amtsinhabers habe mit sage und schreibe 80 % der Wählerstimmen gewonnen
 
Gegen diese dreiste Fälschung protestierten umgehend Zehntausende. Der Staat reagierte mit Gewaltexzessen auf den Straßen und Plätzen des Landes und mit systematischer Folter in Polizeistationen und Gefängnissen. Die Empörung in der Bevölkerung wuchs dadurch nur noch stärker an. Etwa zehn Menschen wurden vom Regime und seinen Unterstützer*innen getötet, viele verletzt, manche davon so schwer, dass sie lebenslang bleibende Schäden davongetragen haben. Das Regime hat sich in den Augen der meisten Menschen endgültig diskreditiert. Seit mehr als sieben Monaten finden täglich Protestaktionen in Belarus statt. Die Bevölkerung versammelte sich hinter drei zentralen Forderungen:
 
– Beendigung der Gewalt und Bestrafung der Täter;
– Freilassung aller politischer Gefangenen;
– Neuwahlen ohne Lukašenko.
 
Seit Beginn der Proteste im August 2020 wurden mehr als 32.000 Menschen festgenommen, hunderte inhaftiert, viele bereits zu drakonischen Strafen verurteilt. Vom Menschenrechtszentrum „Vesna“ („Frühling“) sind gegenwärtig fast 300 Personen als politische Gefangene anerkannt. Sie sitzen für die Beteiligung an Demonstrationen, für das Rufen von Parolen oder das Zeigen von Protestsymbolik ein. Journalist*innen wurden zu Haftstrafen verurteilt, weil ihre Arbeit dem Regime mißfiel. In vielen Fällen werden jetzt die Finanzbehörden gegen Oppositionelle in Stellung gebracht, die mit scheinbar unpolitische Anklagen wegen angeblicher Steuerhinterziehung und ähnlichen Vorwürfen vor Gericht gestellt werden.
 

Solange das illegitime Regime des Aleksandr Lukašenko in Belarus an der Macht bleibt, werden die Menschen- und Bürgerrechtsverletzungen weitergehen. Hunderte, vielleicht Tausende werden für Jahre in Gefängnissen und Lagern verschwinden, mißhandelt und erniedrigt werden. 

Das Regime stützt sich nur noch auf die bewaffneten Kräfte, die finanziert und mit besonderen Privilegien bei der Stange gehalten werden müssen. Die Mittel hierfür stammen vor allem aus den Gewinnen staatlicher Betriebe. Daher verlangt die belarusische Opposition das Einfrieren internationaler Wirtschaftskontakte. Gerade deutsche Partner sorgen durch Ersatzteillieferungen und Wartungen für das reibungslose Funktionieren von belarusischen Staatsbetrieben und somit für eine gute Füllung der Futtertröge der belarusischen Repressionsorgane. 
 
In Leipzig sorgt der Honorarkonsul Steffen Goepel, der als Immobilienuternehmer in der Stadt bekannt ist, für gute Wirtschaftskontakte der heimischen Wirtschaft mit der Diktatur. 
Wir fordern Steffen Goepel auf, zu den Wahlfälschungen und Menschenrechtsverletzungen in Belarus öffentlich Stellung zu beziehen.

Wir fordern ihn auf sich den Demonstrantinnen und Demonstranten am 25. März 2021 zu stellen und Forderungen in Empfang zu nehmen.“
 
 

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.