Protest against Domino’s Pizza Leipzig successful

About a week ago, about 80 trade unionists of the Free Workers Union (FAU) protested in front of the Domino’s branch in Leipzig-Plagwitz. The reason for the demonstration was the outstanding claims of a former employee. The claim has since been settled.

“For me personally, it’s not just about my claims that have to be met, but also about the conditions […] and that something finally changes there!” the affected woman explained. “Poor working conditions are unfortunately standard in the delivery service industry, but in this particular case one really has the impression that even the very last cent is to be squeezed out of the workers” adds Max Fuchs, press spokesman of the FAU Leipzig.

The FAU’s goal was to draw attention to the working conditions in the delivery service industry and to motivate employees in this sector to organize at their workplace.

Systematic pressure on employees?
On the same day as the rally in Leipzig, there was also a protest against Domino’s in the municipality of Agia Paraskevi, about ten kilometers northeast of Athens. On the website of the Rouvikonas collective, the following is written:

In early March 2021, Domino’s Pizza Agia P. fired one of its delivery workers on the grounds that he was not efficient enough. The reality behind the justification seems to be different, as the only “offense” the worker seems to be guilty of is that he has been actively engaged in continuous union actions to ensure basic working hours, health and safety, such as providing delivery workers with equipment as provided for them.

To date, Domino’s refuses to rescind the layoff decision, insisting on the pretext of efficiency. This pretext completely falls apart when one takes into account that the employee had purposefully reduced his hours in recent periods. This reduction in hours is a common practice of companies in distribution circles, where companies/branches or human resources management partners offer low minimum hour contracts that allow day-to-day management to condemn workers to minimum hour periods, and thus minimum wages, in order to blackmail them between compliance or termination.”

Domino’s Pizza, the brand of the quick-service restaurant chain founded in 1960, is listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and the London Stock Exchange (DOM) with different corporate bodies. Domino’s Pizza, by its own account, delivers about 400 million pizzas each year and has more than 14,000 locations in over 80 countries.

The rally in Leipzig brought success
Domino’s did not answer a press inquiry sent on Monday after the rally. Instead, the outstanding dues were transferred in full on the same day. “Trade union organization is worthwhile,” said press spokesman Fuchs on the labor dispute, which has now been concluded. /MS

Protest gegen Domino’s Pizza Leipzig erfolgreich

Vor gut einer Woche protestierten ca. 80 Gewerkschafter*innen der Freien Arbeiterinnen Union (FAU) vor der Domino’s Filiale in Leipzig-Plagwitz. Anlass der Kundgebung waren  ausstehende Ansprüche einer ehemaligen Mitarbeiterin. Die Forderung wurde inzwischen beglichen.

“Es geht mir persönlich nicht nur um meine Ansprüche, die erfüllt werden müssen, sondern auch um die Bedingungen […] und dass sich da endlich mal was ändert!”, erklärte die Betroffene. “Schlechte Arbeitsbedingungen sind in der Lieferdienstbranche leider Standard, doch in diesem speziellen Fall hat man wirklich den Eindruck, dass auch noch der allerletzte Cent aus den Arbeiter*innen heraus gepresst werden soll” ergänzt Max Fuchs, Pressesprecher der FAU Leipzig.

Ziel der FAU war es, auf die Arbeitsbedingungen in der Lieferdienstbranche aufmerksam machen und Beschäftigte in diesem Bereich dazu motivieren, sich an ihrem Arbeitsplatz zu organisieren.

Druck auf Mitarbeiter:innen mit System?
Am gleichen Tag zur Kundgebung in Leipzig kam es in der Gemeinde Agia Paraskevi, etwa zehn Kilometer nordöstlich von Athen, ebenfalls zu Protest gegen Domino’s. Auf der Webseite Kollektivs Rouvikonas lautet es dazu sinngemäß:

Anfang März 2021 feuerte Domino’s Pizza Agia P. einen seiner Auslieferungsmitarbeiter mit der Begründung, er sei nicht effizient genug. Die Realität hinter der Rechtfertigung scheint eine andere zu sein, denn das einzige „Vergehen“, dessen sich der Arbeitnehmer schuldig gemacht zu haben scheint, ist, dass er sich mit kontinuierlichen gewerkschaftlichen Aktionen aktiv für die Gewährleistung grundlegender Arbeitszeiten, Gesundheit und Sicherheit eingesetzt hat, wie z.B. die Bereitstellung von Ausrüstungsgegenständen für die Auslieferungsmitarbeiter, wie sie für diese vorgesehen sind.

Bis heute weigert sich Domino’s, die Entlassungsentscheidung zu widerrufen und beharrt auf dem Vorwand der Effizienz. Dieser Vorwand fällt völlig in sich zusammen, wenn man berücksichtigt, dass der Mitarbeiter in den letzten Zeiträumen gezielt seine Stunden reduziert hatte. Diese Stundenreduzierung ist eine gängige Praxis von Unternehmen in den Verteilerkreisen, in denen Firmen/Filialen oder Personalmanagementpartner niedrige Mindeststundenverträge anbieten, die es dem Tagesmanagement ermöglichen, die Arbeitnehmer zu Zeiten mit Mindeststunden und damit zu Mindestlöhnen zu verdammen, um sie zwischen Einhaltung oder Kündigung zu erpressen.“

Domino’s Pizza, die Marke der 1960 gegründeten Schnellrestaurantkette, ist mit unterschiedlichen Körperschaften an der New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) und der London Stock Exchange (DOM) notiert. Domino’s Pizza liefert, nach eigenen Angaben, jedes Jahr ca. 400 Millionen Pizza aus und zählt über 14.000 Lokale in über 80 Ländern.

Die Kundgebung in Leipzig brachte Erfolg
Auf eine, am Montag nach der Kundgebung abgesendete, Presseanfrage zum Sachverhalt antwortete Domino’s nicht. Stattdessen wurden am gleichen Tag die ausstehenden Beiträge vollumfänglich überwiesen. „Gewerkschafltliche Organisierung lohnt sich“ so Pressespecher Fuchs zum nun abgeschlossenen Arbeitskonflikt.