„The future is intersectional – Queer liberation“

Today, almost 800 participants marched under the motto “The future is intersectional – Queer liberation” from Leipzig’s Marktplatz to Clara-Zetkin-Park. The group “Queering Defaults” had invited for the second time to organize a Pride that is “more political and intersectional than existing offers”. Intersectional means to think and fight different forms of discrimination – like homophobia, racism or Ableism (“ableism”) together.

Pride parades are outdoor events where lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, non-binary and queer people celebrate self-acceptance, successes, legal rights.

At the demonstration, numerous speeches were given in different languages. In addition, the organizers* repeatedly read out central demands that were critical of existing Pride structures/the CSD, dealing with HIV/AIDS, dealing with sex work, structural racism, anti-Romanism, housing policy, queer representation, asexuality, mental illnesses, anti-Semitism, Eurocentrism, and police and prison criticism. The parade was preceded by workshops, lectures, and a panel conversation.

The date of Pride was chosen in reference to the Stonewall Uprising on June 28, 1969. At that time, queer people on Christopher Street in New York City defended themselves against police brutality. The massive police contingent, in view of the 500 registered participants, kept a low profile at today’s Pride. Nevertheless, the officers saw in a banner the “disturbance of public order and a call to violence” and ordered its removal – which was realized in several steps. “We will have the order legally examined afterwards” said the assembly management.

Pride then closed in a relaxed way in Clara Zetkin Park with performances by “Voguing,” “NYYA,” “Linette,” “Der Nebenwiderspruch,” as well as a “vocal collage queer struggles international.”

/MS

„The future is intersectional – Queer liberation“

Knapp 800 Teilnehmer*innen zogen heute unter dem Motto „The future is intersectional – Queer liberation“ vom Leipziger Marktplatz in den Clara-Zetkin-Park. Die Gruppe „Queering Defaults“ hatte nun schon zum zweiten Mal dazu eingeladen einen Pride zu veranstalten, der „politischer und intersektionaler ist, als bestehende Angebote“. Intersektional bedeutet dabei, verschiedene Diskriminierungsformen – wie Homophobie, Rassismus oder Ableismus (“Behindertenfeindlichkeit”) zusammen zu denken und zu bekämpfen. 
 

Pride Paraden sind Outdoor-Events, bei denen Lesben, Schwule, Bisexuelle, Transgender, Nicht-Binäre und queere Menschen Selbstakzeptanz, Erfolge, gesetzliche Rechte gefeiert werden. 

 
Auf der Demonstration wurden zahlreiche Redebeiträge in verschiedenen Sprachen gehalten. Zudem verlasen die Organisator*innen mehrfach zentrale Forderungen, die sich kritisch mit bestehenden Pride Strukturen/dem CSD, dem Umgang mit HIV/AIDS, dem Umgang mit Sexarbeit, strukturellem Rassismus, Antiromanismus, Wohnungspolitik, der queeren Repräsentation, Asexualtität, Mental Illnesses, Antisemitismus, Eurozentrismus sowie Polizei und Knastkritik beschäftigten. Der Parade gingen Workshops, Vorträge und ein Panel-Gespräch voraus.
 
Das Datum des Pride wurde in Anlehnung an den Stonewall-Aufstand am 28. Juni 1969 gewählt. Seinerzeit hatten sich in der Christopher Street in New York City queere Menschen gegen Polizeiwillkür zur Wehr gesetzt. Das, angesichts angemeldeter 500 Teilnehmer*innen, massive Polizeiaufgebot hielt sich zum heutigen Pride im Hintergrund. Dennoch sahen die Beamt*innen in einem Transparent die „Störung der öffentlichen Ordnung und einen Aufruf zur Gewalt“ und ließen die Entfernung beauflagen – was in mehreren Schritten realisiert wurde. „Wir lassen die Beauflagung im Nachgang juristisch prüfen“ meinte die Versammlungsleitung.
 
 

Der Pride schloss dann entspannt im Clara-Zetkin-Park mit Performances von „Voguing“, „NYYA“, „Linette“, „Der Nebenwiderspruch“ sowie einer „Stimmkollage queere Kämpfe international“.

 

/MS