Dresden Administrative Court allows protest against the AfD federal party conference

12.01.2019 - Am Rande des Bundesparteitags der AfD in Riesa

Protest has formed against the federal party conference of the AfD on Saturday, 10.4.21 in Dresden. An alliance of anti-fascist groups is calling for two bicycle demonstrations, which will culminate in a rally organized by the alliance “Dresden nazifrei” at the streetcar stop “Messe”. The party conference of the fascist AfD will take place at the Dresden Messe. 

Despite early registration, the Dresden assembly authorities took their time and decreed on the evening of April 8, 2021 that the bicycle demonstrations could not take place. As an argument, the city cited the increased incidence of infection and claimed that the distances could not be maintained. The specter of “street blockades” was also raised. 

“It cannot be that responsible and solidary protest against the advancing shift to the right is to be prohibited with reference to the pandemic situation, while it has not been possible for months to put the super-spreader events of the Coronaclowns and Klemmnazis in their place,” explained the association of organizers*. The activists suspect a political motive behind the cancellation and criticize the assembly authority for this decision, they told adnn.me.

With the decision of April 9, 2021, the Administrative Court of Dresden ordered that the bicycle demonstration can take place from the Jorge Gomondai Square, with a modified route and limited number of participants. 

The Leipzig administrative lawyer Raik Höfler welcomes the decision of the VG Dresden. “With the decision, the fundamental right to freedom of assembly is enforced even in times of the corona pandemic” he told la-presse.org.

“[…] The respondent [has] wrongly rejected the requested exemption by decision of April 8, 2021. In view of the concrete circumstances of the individual case, a refusal of the exemption proves to be an error of judgment when weighing the aforementioned conflicting legal interests. If exceptions are justifiable in the individual case from the point of view of infection protection law, the fundamental rights guarantees of Article 8 (1) of the German Basic Law require that such an exception – if necessary with the addition of further conditions – also be granted in the sense of an intended discretion”. it says in the decision of the administrative court (Az.: 6 L 270/21). 

In Dresden, bicycle demonstrations have been repeatedly prohibited by the assembly authorities in recent months. In the city of Leipzig, on the other hand, bicycle marches in times of pandemic are now among the popular alternatives to moving demonstrations that have been approved by the authorities. According to the valid Corona protection regulation assemblies can take place only stationary. However, permits are possible. / MS

Verwaltungsgericht Dresden ermöglicht Protest gegen den AfD Bundesparteitag

12.01.2019 - Am Rande des Bundesparteitags der AfD in Riesa
12.01.2019 - Am Rande des Bundesparteitags der AfD in Riesa

Gegen den Bundesparteitag der AfD am Samstag, 10.4.21 in Dresden hat sich Protest formiert. Ein Bündnis antifaschistischer Gruppen ruft zu zwei Fahrraddemonstrationen auf, die in einer vom Bündnis „Dresden nazifrei“ veranstalteten Kundgebung an der Straßenbahnhaltestelle „Messe“ münden soll. Auf der Dresdner Messe findet  der Parteitag der faschistischen AfD statt. 

Trotz frühzeitiger Anmeldung hat sich die Dresdner Versammlungsbehörde viel Zeit gelassen und verfügte am Abend des 8. April 2021, dass die Fahrraddemos nicht stattfinden können. Als Argument führte die Stadt das erhöhte Infektionsgeschehen an und behauptetet, dass die Abstände nicht eingehalten werden könnten. Auch das Schreckgespenst von „Straßen-Blockaden“ wurde an die Wand gemalt. 
 

„Es kann nicht sein, dass verantwortungsvoller und solidarischer Protest gegen den voranschreitenden Rechtsruck mit Verweis auf die Pandemiesituation untersagt werden soll, während es seit Monaten nicht geschafft wird, die Superspreaderevents der Coronaclowns und Klemmnazis in die Schranken zu weisen.“ erklärte der Zusammenschluss der Veranstalter*innen. Die Aktivist:innen vermuten ein politisches Motiv hinter der Absage und kritisieren die Versammlungsbehörde für diese Entscheidung, bekundeten sie gegenüber adnn.me.
 

Mit Beschluss vom 9. April 2021 verfügte das Verwaltungsgericht Dresden nun, dass die Fahrraddemo ab dem Jorge-Gomondai-Platz stattfinden kann, mit geänderter Route und limierter Teilnehmer*innenzahl. 

Der Leipziger Verwaltungsrechtler Raik Höfler begrüßt die Entscheidung des VG Dresden. „Mit dem Beschluss wird dem Grundrecht auf Versammlungsfreiheit auch in Zeiten der Coronapandemie zur Geltung verholfen“ erklärte er gegenüber la-presse.org.

„[…] Die Antragsgegnerin [hat] die begehrte Ausnahmegenehmigung zu Unrecht mit Bescheid vom 8. April 2021 abgelehnt. In Anbetracht der konkreten Umstände des Einzelfalls erweist sich unter Abwägung der benannten widerstreitenden Rechtsgüter eine Versagung der Ausnahmegenehmigung als ermessensfehlerhaft. Sind im Einzelfall aus infektionsschutzrechtlicher Sicht Ausnahmen vertretbar, gebieten es die grundrechtlichen Gewährleistungen des Art. 8 Abs. 1 GG, im Sinne eines intendierten Ermessens eine solche Ausnahme – gegebenenfalls unter Beifügung weiterer Auflagen – auch zu erteilen.“ heißt es im Beschluss des Verwaltungsgerichtes (Az.: 6 L 270/21). 
 
In Dresden waren Fahrraddemonstrationen durch die Versammlungsbehörde in den letzten Monaten immer wieder untersagt worden. In der Stadt Leipzig dagegen gehören Fahrradaufzüge in Pandemiezeiten inzwischen zu beliebten und von der Behörde zugelassenen Alternativen zu bewegten Demonstrationen. Laut der gültigen Corona-Schutz-Verordnung können Versammlungen nur ortsfest stattfinden. Möglich sind allerdings Aunahmegenehmigungen.