50th International Roma Day in Leipzig

50 years ago today, on April 8, 1971, the first World Roma Congress took place in Orpington, a small suburb of London. 23 Roma activists from 9 European countries decided to use the proper name “Roma” to ban discriminatory words like “Gipsy” or “Gypsy”. In addition, the Roma gave themselves a flag: the upper half “blue” for the sky, the lower half “green” for the country – in the middle a red Ashoka Chakra which should symbolize the origin of the Roma from India. The song “Jelem, Djelem” was adopted by Congress as the anthem of the civil rights movement. 

 

The term “Roma”, adopted at the World Roma Congress, stands for very different groups such as Bashalde, Boyash, Churari, Gitanoes, Kalderash, Kalo, Lovari, Luri Romungro Manouches, Machavaya, Ungaritza, Romanichal, Rudari, Sinti, Travellers, Yenish, Xoraxai and others. Despite differences in language, culture, religion and history, they are united by a centuries-long history of oppression and exclusion that culminated in the extermination of hundreds of thousands of Roma by the Nazi regime. The holocaust against the Roma is called “Porajmos” in Romanes.

50 years after the founding congress, it can be stated that the diversity of Roma groups is at the same time a problem for strong organization and representation of interests.  This also makes it easier for international organizations, the EU and national governments to fend off demands for equal rights. There is a clear lack of political will to implement equal rights for Roma. 

In countries of Southeastern and Eastern Europe, Roma live on the margins of society, often cut off from humanitarian standards of living. “It is shameful that the nearly 12 million Sinti and Roma in Europe today still face exclusion, discrimination, apartheid and violence. And this, despite their centuries-old history, despite the Holocaust, in which 500,000 Sinti and Roma were murdered in Nazi-occupied Europe. In many countries, human rights have a high priority after the experiences of Nazi barbarism. But they still do not apply to all Sinti and Roma in Europe. Together, as a whole society, we must finally change this shameful state of affairs. We therefore appeal to the national governments to implement the strategic EU framework and finally perceive the Roma as an equal part of society,” states Romani Rose, Chairman of the Central Council Sinti and Roma. “Antiziganism must finally be outlawed and fought just as consistently as anti-Semitism” he adds in a video statement on the occasion of the holiday.

The city of Leipzig also continues to struggle in this regard. In 2016, the initiative “Leipzig Korrektiv”, together with numerous personalities, such as Küf Kaufmann, Sebastian Krumbiegel, Erik Wolf and Cornelia Ernst wrote a letter to the Lord Mayor Burkhard Jung to “set a strong sign by raising the Roma flag on April 8, at the New City Hall”.

A subsequent motion submitted in June 2019 by the Bündnis 90/ Die Grünen parliamentary group and the Linksfraktion found only partial approval of the City Council, the raising of the Roma flag did not find a majority. Even for the 50th anniversary, therefore, only the monument at the Swan Pond behind the Opera remains as the only symbolic place.
 
Today, on 08 April, the community is organizing at https://romanistan.com/ with a broad-based online congress to mark the holiday. 

On April 14 at 6:30 p.m., there will be an online discussion titled “Exclusion. Roma and Sinti Hostility Yesterday and Today. What do we have to do about it?” will take place.

50. Internationaler Roma Tag in Leipzig

Heute vor 50 Jahren, am 8. April 1971, fand der erste Welt-Roma-Kongress in Orpington, einem kleinen Vorort von London, statt. 23 Roma-Aktivist*innen aus 9 Staaten Europas beschlossen die Verwendung der Eigenbezeichung „Roma“ als Verbannung von diskriminierenden Wörtern wie „Gipsy“ oder „Zigeuner“. Zudem gaben sich die Roma eine Flaggedie obere Hälfte „Blau“ für den Himmel, die untere Hälfte „Grün“ für das Land – in der Mitte ein rotes Ashoka Chakra welches die Herkunft der Roma aus Indien symbolisieren soll. Das Lied „Jelem, Djelem“ wurde vom Kongress als Hymne der Bürgerrechtsbewegung angenommen
 

Die, auf dem Welt-Roma-Kongress beschlossene, Bezeichnung „Roma“ steht für ganz verschiedene Gruppen wie Bashalde, Boyash, Churari, Gitanoes, Kalderash, Kalo, Lovari, Luri Romungro Manouches, Machavaya, Ungaritza, Romanichal, Rudari, Sinti, Travellers, Yenish, Xoraxai und weitere. Trotz Unterschieden in Sprache, Kultur, Religion und Geschichte verbindet sie eine jahrhundertelange Geschichte der Unterdrückung und Ausgrenzung, die in der Vernichtung hunderttausender Roma durch das NS Regime gipfelte. Der Holocaust an den Roma wird auf Romanes Porajmos bezeichnet.
 
50 Jahre nach dem Gründungskongress lässt sich feststellen, dass die Vielfalt der Roma-Gruppen zugleich ein Problem für eine starke Organisierung und Interessenvertretung ist.  So fällt es auch internationalen Organisationen, EU und nationaleRegierungen leichter, die Forderungen nach Gleichberechtigung abzuwehren. Es mangelt klar an politischem Willen die Gleichberechtigung der Roma umusetzen. 
 
In Ländern Südost- und Osteuropas leben Roma am Rand der Gesellschaft, oft abgeschnitten von humanitären Lebensstandards. „Es ist beschämend, dass die fast 12 Millionen Sinti und Roma in Europa heute immer noch mit Ausgrenzung, Diskriminierung, Apartheid und Gewalt konfrontiert werden. Und das, trotz ihrer Jahrhunderte alten Geschichte, trotz des Holocaust, in dem im NS-besetzten Europa 500 000 Sinti und Roma ermordet wurden. In vielen Ländern haben die Menschenrechte nach den Erfahrungen der nationalsozialistischen Barbarei einen hohen Stellenwert. Doch gelten diese immer noch nicht für alle Sinti und Roma in Europa. Diesen beschämenden Zustand müssen wir gemeinsam, als gesamte Gesellschaft, endgültig ändern. Wir appellieren daher an die nationalen Regierungen, den strategischen EU-Rahmen umzusetzen und die Roma endlich als gleichberechtigten Teil der Gesellschaft wahrzunehmen.“, konstatiert Romani Rose, Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Sinti und Roma. „Antiziganismus muss endlich genauso und konsequent geächtet und bekämpft werden wie Antisemitismus“ ergänzt er anlässlich des Feiertags in einem Video-Statement.
 
Auch die Stadt Leipzig tut sich diesbezüglich weiterhin schwer. 2016 schrieb die Initiative “Leipzig Korrektiv”, gemeinsam mit zahlreichen Persönlichkeiten, wie Küf Kaufmann, Sebastian Krumbiegel, Erik Wolf und Cornelia Ernst einen Brief an den Oberbürgermeister Burkhard Jung um, „mit dem Hissen der Roma-Fahne am 8. April, am Neuen Rathaus ein starkes Zeichen zu setzen“.
 
Ein daraufhin im Juni 2019 eingereichter Antrag der Fraktion Bündnis 90/ Die Grünen und der Linksfraktion fand nur in Teilen eine Zustimmung des Stadtrates, das Hissen der Roma Fahne fand keine Mehrheit. Auch zum 50. Jahrestag bleibt daher lediglich das Denkmal am Schwanenteich hinter der Oper als einzig symbolträchtiger Ort.
 

Heute, am 08. April, organisiert sich die Community unter https://romanistan.com/ mit einem breit aufgestellten Online-Kongress anlässlich des Feiertages. 

Am 14. April um 18:30 Uhr findet eine Online-Diskussion unter dem Titel “Exklusion. Roma- und Sintifeindlichkeit gestern und heute. Was müssen wir dagegen tun?” statt. 

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.